Literary Award Gala

At the Nashville Public Library Foundation we believe that the heart of a strong city is a strong library. This has been exemplified during the challenges of the last few months. As you can imagine, this 17th anniversary of the Literary Award Gala will look quite different, but we promise it will be equally meaningful and memorable.

Nashville Public Library Literary Award Virtual Public Lecture
Saturday, November 14 | 10:00 a.m. 

Join host Ketch Secor and local authors at the Virtual Public Lecture for a lively discussion highlighting the ways diverse families across our city have been impacted by the work of Nashville Public Library.

Ketch Secor is a founding member of the Grammy Award-winning group Old Crow Medicine Show and a member of the Grand Ole Opry. Lecture participants include authors Higgins Bond, Jamie Sumner, Andrew Marannis and Yuyi Morales. All are invited to join this free celebration, but we ask that you kindly reserve your spot. If you are able to make a gift to support our remarkable library, your generosity would be greatly appreciated.

In keeping with tradition, the Literary Award Public Lecture will be held the morning of the 14th. Join us for this free event as we shine the spotlight on library users to help celebrate the powerful impact of literacy and learning at Nashville Public Library.  

Nashville Public Library Literary Award Stay-at-Home Gala
Saturday, November 14 | 7:00 p.m.

Celebrate the 17th Annual Literary Award Gala from the comfort of your own home or in a small personal gathering. The virtual program, hosted by Grammy-nominated, award-winning, multi-genre musician and artist, Dierks Bentley, and renowned chef, restaurateur and author,Maneet Chauhan, will feature inspirational library stories, special appearances from past Literary Award honorees, surprise guests and more.

This year’s Literary Award Gala will kick-off a year-long celebration of Literacy as the Great Equalizer — highlighting the Foundation’s commitment to advancing diversity, equity and inclusion through the support and promotion of Nashville Public Library’s life-changing literacy programs — culminating in honoring Colson Whitehead as our Literary Award Honoree for 2021.

Past Honorees

Walter Isaacson and Evan Thomas, 2019
David Remnick, 2018
Elizabeth Gilbert, 2017
John Lewis, 2016
Jon Meacham, 2015
Scott Turow, 2014
Robert K. Massie, 2013
Margaret Atwood, 2012
John McPhee, 2011
Billy Collins, 2010
Doris Kearns Goodwin, 2009
John Irving, 2008
Ann Patchett, 2007
John Updike, 2006
David McCullough, 2005
David Halberstam, 2004