Free Public Lecture
featuring the 2019 Literary Award Honoree
Walter Isaacson and Evan Thomas

Saturday, November 16
10 – 11 a.m.
Hume-Fogg Magnet High School
700 Broadway

About the Honorees

Walter Isaacson is the author of seven books: Leonardo da Vinci, The Innovators: How a Group of Hackers, Geniuses, and Geeks Created the Digital RevolutionSteve JobsEinstein: His Life and UniverseBenjamin Franklin: An American Life, and Kissinger: A Biography, and The Wise Men: Six Friends and the World They Made (co-authored with Evan Thomas).

Isaacson is a host of the show “Amanpour and Company” on PBS and CNN, a contributor to CNBC, and host of the podcast “Trailblazers, from Dell Technologies.” He is also a Professor of History at Tulane and an advisory partner at Perella Weinberg, a financial services firm based in New York City. He is also the past CEO of the Aspen Institute, where he is now a Distinguished Fellow, and has been the chairman of CNN and the editor of TIME magazine.

Isaacson is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Royal Society of the Arts, and the American Philosophical Society. He serves on the board of United Airlines, the New Orleans City Planning Commission, the New Orleans Tricentennial Commission, Bloomberg Philanthropies, the Rockefeller Foundation, the Society of American Historians, the U.S. Defense Department Innovation Board, the Carnegie Institution for Science, and My Brother’s Keeper Alliance.





Evan Thomas is the author of ten books:  The Wise Men (with Walter Isaacson), The Man to See, The Very Best Men, Robert Kennedy, John Paul Jones, Sea of Thunder, The War Lovers, Ike’s Bluff, Being Nixon, and First:  Sandra Day O’ConnorBeing Nixon, John Paul Jones, Sea of Thunder and First were New York Times bestsellers.  Thomas was a writer, correspondent and editor for thirty-three years at Time and Newsweek, including ten years (1986-96) as Washington bureau chief at Newsweek, where he wrote more than one hundred cover stories and at the time of his retirement in 2010 was editor-at-large.  He has appeared on many TV and radio talk shows, including Meet the Press, CBS Morning News, Morning Joe and The Colbert Report.  The author of dozens of book reviews for The New York Times and The Washington Post, Thomas has taught writing and journalism at Harvard and Princeton, where, from 2007 to 2014, he was Ferris Professor of Journalism.

The Nashville Public Library Literary Award recognizes distinguished authors and other individuals for their contribution to the world of books and reading. Past recipients are David Remnick, Elizabeth Gilbert, John Lewis, Jon Meacham, Scott Turow, Robert K. Massie, Margaret Atwood, John McPhee, Billy Collins, Doris Kearns Goodwin, John Irving, Ann Patchett, John Updike, David McCullough and David Halberstam.

The Nashville Public Library Foundation (NPLF) raises private funding to enhance the programs, collections and facilities of the Nashville Public Library.