2023 Literary Award Weekend featuring Kate DiCamillo

Featured Event, Yearly

For the first time in the Literary Award’s 19-year history, we will honor an author known for her groundbreaking work specifically within the children’s literature genre, though her impact certainly transcends age limits. We are thrilled to announce that our 2023 Literary Award honoree is literary superstar, Ms. Kate DiCamillo. This fall, NPLF along with Literary Award Weekend co-chairs, Cassidy and Dierks Bentley, Johari and Lonnell Matthews, and Kristin and Carter Paine, invite patrons to celebrate with us and to rekindle the magic that exists within those first moments of reading when we fall in love with great stories. 

Ms. DiCamillo’s books, while created for children, consist of grand stories, beautifully written, that resonate across generations. They inspire through the triumph of love and courage, and offer something to readers of all ages, reaching for light in an often dark and challenging world.

Public Lecture
Remarks and conversation with Ann Patchett
Wishing Chair Productions Puppet Show Premiere
Saturday, November 4
10:00 AM
Martin Luther King Jr. High School

Literary Award Gala
Saturday, November 4 
6:30 PM Cocktail Reception
7:30 PM Dinner 
Nashville Public Library
615 Church Street 
Formal attire 
Parking available in Library Garage 

Experience more, including access to an exclusive meet-and-greet with Ms. DiCamillo, by becoming a Sponsor or Patron. Click here for levels and benefits.

About the Author 

Kate DiCamillo’s writing journey has been a truly remarkable one. She grew up in Florida and moved to Minnesota in her twenties, when homesickness and a bitter winter led her to write Because of Winn-Dixie, her first published novel, which became a runaway bestseller and snapped up a Newbery Honor. The Tiger Rising, her second novel, was also set in Florida and went on to become a National Book Award Finalist. Since then, the best-selling author has explored settings as varied as a medieval castle and a magician’s theater while continuing to enjoy great success, winning two Newbery Medals and being named National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature. Several of her books have been adapted to film, including most recently, The Magician’s Elephant, which was a Netflix animated original. Kate DiCamillo’s books’ themes of hope and belief amid impossible circumstances and their messages of shared humanity and connectedness have resonated with readers of all ages around the world. She now has over 40 million books in print worldwide. 

The Nashville Public Library Literary Award was created to recognize distinguished authors and other individuals for their contribution to the world of books and reading. Each year, the award brings an outstanding individual to Nashville to honor his or her achievements, to promote books, literacy and reading, and to benefit Nashville Public Library. 

Proceeds from the Literary Award Weekend benefit the Nashville Public Library Foundation’s mission to support and enhance Nashville Public Library. 


Literary Award Presenting Sponsor

Literary Award Honoree Sponsor
Sandra Schatten Foundation

Literary Award Gala Sponsor
James Stephen Turner Family Foundation

Public Lecture Sponsors
Carol & Bobby Frist

First Edition Reception Sponsor

Gala Puppet Show and Cocktail Reception Sponsor

Puppet Show Sponsor
The Bentley Family

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Limited Edition Patrons
Katie & Kevin Crumbo
Anne Davis & Karl Dean
Lucy & Jeff Haynes
Martha Ingram
Robin & Bill King
Michael Shane Neal
Elizabeth & Larry Papel
Ann Patchett & Karl VanDevender
Joelle & Brant Phillips
Brenda & Joe Steakley
Jerry & Ernie Williams

Literati Patrons
Grace & Carl Awh
Melinda & Jeff Balser
Ann & Frank Bumstead
Tricia & Ben Carswell
Sondra & Doug Cruickshanks
Josephine & John Darwin
Kate & Steven Ezell
Joan & John Hindle
Vicki & Rick Holton
Lauren & Edmund Jackson
Cassie & Charles Kelley
Melissa & Andrew Lasher
Paige & Travis Messina
Lindsay & Tyson Moore
Keith B. Simmons
Byron R. Trauger
Katy Varney & Dave Goetz

Patron Hosts
Vandana & Rick Abramson
Amy & Kenneth Adams
Pamela & Michael Carter
Katlin & Ross Copperman
Georgette & Shervin Eftekhari
Karyn McLaughlin Frist
Barbara & Greg Hagood
Cathy & Clay Jackson
Kimberly & Brad Paisley
Jennifer Puryear
Tara Scarlett & Michael Peacock
Josephine VanDevender & Giles Ward
Veronica Votypka & Russell McLean
Melissa & Jay Wellons

Event Details

November 4, 2023
6:30 pm -
10:30 pm
Share this:

You Might Also Like