Carnegie Society

Carnegie Society members are building a brighter city by inspiring reading, advancing learning and connecting our community.

A nod to Andrew Carnegie, the philanthropic leader responsible for building Nashville’s first public libraries and for laying the foundation with which NPLF’s efforts stand today, the Carnegie Society is an annual giving opportunity that supports the Nashville Public Library and its mission to provide education, literacy and equal access for all.

Our Carnegie Society members allow us, year after year, to create and sustain programs that change the lives of more than 600,000 Nashville residents. These programs help children and adults learn vital reading skills, inspire teens to explore technology in state-of-the-art spaces and bring the community together to hear award-winning authors, enjoy visual art exhibits and hear live music.

Become a member of the Carnegie Society and join a circle of civic-minded individuals dedicated to making our city a more vibrant, literate and connected place to live and work.

As a member of the Carnegie Society you will receive:

  • An invitation to participate in the Carnegie Society Book Club, an exclusive annual opportunity to discover and discuss great reads
  • Special invitations to unique Library Foundation events, such as our special library briefings, Salon@615 author talks and VIP receptions
  • A commemorative NPLF library card
  • Recognition in the Library Foundation’s Annual Report

Participation Levels

Benefactor: $10,000+
Patron: $5,000 – $9,999
Director: $3,000 – $4,999
Member: $1,500 – $2,999

Join Carnegie Society Today

Prefer to give monthly?

Carnegie Society Members

As of January 2018



Annual gift of $10,000+

Mrs. William Cochran Sr.
Mrs. Irwin B. Eskind
Mrs. Martha R. Ingram
Mr. and Mrs. Eric Paisley
Mr. and Mrs. Stuart W. Speyer


Annual gift of $5,000-$9,999

Aladdin Industries Foundation, Inc.
Mr. and Mrs. Frank M. Bumstead
The Reverend Canon and Mrs. Fred Dettwiller
Mr. and Mrs. Robert Doolittle

Mr. and Mrs. William B. King
Mr. and Mrs. Zulu Scott-Barnes
Dr. and Mrs. Robert W. Wahl
Willard R. And Frances J. Hendrix Foundation


Annual gift of $3,000-$4,999

Mr. and Mrs. John W. Clay Jr.
Dr. and Mrs. Jeffrey Eskind
Dr. and Mrs. J. Brevard Haynes
Mr. and Mrs. Clay T. Jackson
Dr. and Mrs. Michael Neuss
Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin R. Rechter

Mr. and Mrs. Clint Smith
Mr. and Mrs. Philip Stephens
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph H. Torrence
Ms. Laura Anne Turner
Mr. and Mrs. Stephen F. Wood


Annual gift of $1,500-$2,999

Ms. Susan Adams Andrews
Dr. and Mrs. Carl C. Awh
Mr. and Mrs. Jeremy Bakker
Dr. and Mrs. Jeffrey Balser
Mr. and Mrs. J. Barry Banker
Mr. and Mrs. Robert E. Baulch III
Mr. and Mrs. R.E. Baulch, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. David J. Baulch
Mr. and Mrs. John S. Beasley II
Ms. Barbara Bell
Ms. Miriam L. Bliss and Mr. Dwayne W. Barrett
Mr. and Mrs. Stephen T. Braun
Mr. and Mrs. Karl Braun
The Honorable Philip Bredesen and Ms. Andrea Conte
Dr. and Mrs. Phillip Brown
Mrs. Iris W. Buhl
Dr. Wyeth Burgess and Mr. Edward Burgess
Mr. and Mrs. William H. Cammack
Ms. Corey Chatis
Dr. and Mrs. James F. Conrad
Mr. and Mrs. Joe C. Cook III
Mr. and Mrs. Charles W. Cook Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Douglas Cruickshanks Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. J. Bradford Currie
Mr. Carlisle R. Davis Jr.
Ms. Caroline A. Davis
The Honorable Karl F. Dean and Ms. Delta Anne Davis

Mr. and Mrs. William T. DeLay
Mr. and Mrs. Townes Duncan
Mr. and Mrs. William H. Eskind
Dr. and Mrs. Steven Eskind
Mr. and Mrs. Steven D. Ezell
Ms. Sara Finley
Mr. and Mrs. Bob Fisher
Mr. Brian T. Fitzpatrick
Mr. and Mrs. Gene Fleming
Ms. Beth A. Fortune and Ms. Debbie Turner
Mr. and Mrs. David B. Fox Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Keith D. Frazier
Mr. and Mrs. Jan Freitag
Dr. and Mrs. Robert A. Frist
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas F. Frist III
Mr. and Mrs. Robert A. Frist Jr.
The Honorable and Mrs. William H. Frist, M.D.
Mr. and Mrs. Joe C. Galante
Mr. and Mrs. Fred C. Goad Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Joel C. Gordon
Dr. Gary S. Gutow
Mr. and Mrs. Greg Hagood
Mr. and Mrs. William Hawkins
Mr. and Mrs. Jeffery N. Haynes
Mr. and Mrs. James G. Hughes
Mr. and Mrs. Gavin Ivester
Mrs. Harold E. Jackson Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Jerry Johnson
Mr. and Mrs. R. Milton Johnson

Dr. and Mrs. Howard W. Jones
Dr. and Mrs. Will D. Kendrick
Dr. and Mrs. Howard Kirshner
Mr. and Mrs. Walter G. Knestrick
Ms. Kelly J Koeppel
Ms. Leona M. Pratt and Mr. Neil B. Krugman
Dr. Kristine LaLonde and Dr. Claudio Mosse
Mr. Edward D. Lanquist
Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Lasher
Mr. and Mrs. Michael F. Lovett
Mr. Mark Magnuson and Mr. Steve Westfield
Dr. and Mrs. Raymond S. Martin III
Dr. Pat Matthews-Juarez
Mr. and Mrs. Ben May
Ms. Julia McCown
Mr. and Mrs. Mark A. McNeely
Melissa McPheeters
Mrs. James R. Meadows, Jr.
Dr. Heather Fairbank and Mr. Rusty Miller
Dr. and Mrs. Chris Mixon
Mr. and Mrs. Tyson Moore
Mr. and Mrs. Kent Oliver
Mr. and Mrs. Laurence M. Papel
Dr. and Mrs. Philip M. Pfeffer
Mr. and Mrs. Scott M. Portis
Mr. and Mrs. Gustavus A. Puryear IV
Reco Foundation
Mr. and Mrs. Allen Reynolds
Dr. Walter M. Robinson

Mr. and Mrs. Eric Satz
Mrs. J. Ronald Scott
Mr. and Mrs. Walter Searcy
Mrs. John Seigenthaler
Mr. and Mrs. Robert A. Sewell
Mrs. Joan B. Shayne
Mr. and Mrs. Jonathan A. Shayne
Mr. and Mrs. W. Lucas Simons
Mr. and Mrs. Brian Smallwood
Mr. and Mrs. Overton T. Smith
Mr. and Mrs. William T. Spitz
Mr. and Mrs. Joe N. Steakley
Mrs. Howard L. Stringer
Drs. Rebecca and Michael Swan
Mr. and Mrs. Cromwell Tidwell III
Mr. and Mrs. John Tighe
The Honorable Aleta Trauger and Mr. Byron Trauger
Mr. and Mrs. James S. Turner Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. J. Stephen Turner
Ms. Katy Varney and Mr. Dave Goetz Jr.
Dr. and Mrs. Daniel D. Viner
Mrs. Brian Scott Walls
Dr. and Mrs. John S. Warner
Mr. and Mrs. Richard F. Warren
Dr. Jonna Whitman and Mr. Douglas B. Whitman
Mr. Marcus Whitney
Mr. and Mrs. Blair J. Wilson
Mr. and Mrs. Stephen G. Young
Mrs. Martin Zeitlin
Dr. Mary Zutter and Mr. Sam Santoro