Carnegie Society

Carnegie Society members are building a brighter city by inspiring reading, advancing learning and connecting our community.

A nod to Andrew Carnegie, the philanthropic leader responsible for building Nashville’s first public libraries and for laying the foundation with which NPLF’s efforts stand today, the Carnegie Society is an annual giving opportunity that supports the Nashville Public Library and its mission to provide education, literacy and equal access for all.

Our Carnegie Society members allow us, year after year, to create and sustain programs that change the lives of more than 600,000 Nashville residents. These programs help children and adults learn vital reading skills, inspire teens to explore technology in state-of-the-art spaces and bring the community together to hear award-winning authors, enjoy visual art exhibits and hear live music.

Become a member of the Carnegie Society and join a circle of civic-minded individuals dedicated to making our city a more vibrant, literate and connected place to live and work.

As a member of the Carnegie Society you will receive:

  • An invitation to participate in the Carnegie Society Book Club, an exclusive annual opportunity to discover and discuss great reads
  • Special invitations to unique Library Foundation events, such as our special library briefings, Salon@615 author talks and VIP receptions
  • A commemorative NPLF library card
  • Recognition in the Library Foundation’s Annual Report

Participation Levels

Benefactor: $10,000+
Patron: $5,000 – $9,999
Director: $3,000 – $4,999
Member: $1,500 – $2,999

Join Carnegie Society Today


Carnegie Society Members

As of January 2018


Annual gift of $10,000+

Mrs. William Cochran Sr.
Mrs. Irwin B. Eskind
Mrs. Martha R. Ingram
Mr. and Mrs. Eric Paisley
Mr. and Mrs. Stuart W. Speyer


Annual gift of $5,000-$9,999

Aladdin Industries Foundation, Inc.
Mr. and Mrs. Frank M. Bumstead
The Reverend Canon and Mrs. Fred Dettwiller
Mr. and Mrs. Robert Doolittle

Mr. and Mrs. William B. King
Mr. and Mrs. Zulu Scott-Barnes
Dr. and Mrs. Robert W. Wahl
Willard R. And Frances J. Hendrix Foundation


Annual gift of $3,000-$4,999

Mr. and Mrs. John W. Clay Jr.
Dr. and Mrs. Jeffrey Eskind
Dr. and Mrs. J. Brevard Haynes
Mr. and Mrs. Clay T. Jackson
Dr. and Mrs. Michael Neuss
Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin R. Rechter

Mr. and Mrs. Clint Smith
Mr. and Mrs. Philip Stephens
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph H. Torrence
Ms. Laura Anne Turner
Mr. and Mrs. Stephen F. Wood


Annual gift of $1,500-$2,999

Ms. Susan Adams Andrews

Dr. and Mrs. Carl C. Awh

Mr. and Mrs. Jeremy Bakker

Dr. and Mrs. Jeffrey Balser

Mr. and Mrs. J. Barry Banker

Mr. and Mrs. Robert E. Baulch III

Mr. and Mrs. R.E. Baulch, Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. David J. Baulch

Mr. and Mrs. John S. Beasley II

Ms. Barbara Bell

Ms. Miriam L. Bliss and Mr. Dwayne W. Barrett

Mr. and Mrs. Stephen T. Braun

Mr. and Mrs. Karl Braun

The Honorable Philip Bredesen and Ms. Andrea Conte

Dr. and Mrs. Phillip Brown

Mrs. Iris W. Buhl

Dr. Wyeth Burgess and Mr. Edward Burgess

Mr. and Mrs. William H. Cammack

Ms. Corey Chatis

Dr. and Mrs. James F. Conrad

Mr. and Mrs. Joe C. Cook III

Mr. and Mrs. Charles W. Cook Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. Douglas Cruickshanks Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. J. Bradford Currie

Mr. Carlisle R. Davis Jr.

Ms. Caroline A. Davis

The Honorable Karl F. Dean and Ms. Delta Anne Davis

Mr. and Mrs. William T. DeLay

Mr. and Mrs. Townes Duncan

Mr. and Mrs. William H. Eskind

Dr. and Mrs. Steven Eskind

Mr. and Mrs. Steven D. Ezell

Ms. Sara Finley

Mr. and Mrs. Bob Fisher

Mr. Brian T. Fitzpatrick

Mr. and Mrs. Gene Fleming

Ms. Beth A. Fortune and Ms. Debbie Turner

Mr. and Mrs. David B. Fox Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. Keith D. Frazier

Mr. and Mrs. Jan Freitag

Dr. and Mrs. Robert A. Frist

Mr. and Mrs. Thomas F. Frist III

Mr. and Mrs. Robert A. Frist Jr.

The Honorable and Mrs. William H. Frist, M.D.

Mr. and Mrs. Joe C. Galante

Mr. and Mrs. Fred C. Goad Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. Joel C. Gordon

Dr. Gary S. Gutow

Mr. and Mrs. Greg Hagood

Mr. and Mrs. William Hawkins

Mr. and Mrs. Jeffery N. Haynes

Mr. and Mrs. James G. Hughes

Mr. and Mrs. Gavin Ivester

Mrs. Harold E. Jackson Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. Jerry Johnson

Mr. and Mrs. R. Milton Johnson

Dr. and Mrs. Howard W. Jones

Dr. and Mrs. Will D. Kendrick

Dr. and Mrs. Howard Kirshner

Mr. and Mrs. Walter G. Knestrick

Ms. Kelly J Koeppel

Ms. Leona M. Pratt and Mr. Neil B. Krugman

Dr. Kristine LaLonde and Dr. Claudio Mosse

Mr. Edward D. Lanquist

Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Lasher

Mr. and Mrs. Michael F. Lovett

Mr. Mark Magnuson and Mr. Steve Westfield

Dr. and Mrs. Raymond S. Martin III

Dr. Pat Matthews-Juarez

Mr. and Mrs. Ben May

Ms. Julia McCown

Mr. and Mrs. Mark A. McNeely

Melissa McPheeters

Mrs. James R. Meadows, Jr.

Dr. Heather Fairbank and Mr. Rusty Miller

Dr. and Mrs. Chris Mixon

Mr. and Mrs. Tyson Moore

Mr. and Mrs. Kent Oliver

Mr. and Mrs. Laurence M. Papel

Dr. and Mrs. Philip M. Pfeffer

Mr. and Mrs. Scott M. Portis

Mr. and Mrs. Gustavus A. Puryear IV

Reco Foundation

Mr. and Mrs. Allen Reynolds

Dr. Walter M. Robinson

Mr. and Mrs. Eric Satz

Mrs. J. Ronald Scott

Mr. and Mrs. Walter Searcy

Mrs. John Seigenthaler

Mr. and Mrs. Robert A. Sewell

Mrs. Joan B. Shayne

Mr. and Mrs. Jonathan A. Shayne

Mr. and Mrs. W. Lucas Simons

Mr. and Mrs. Brian Smallwood

Mr. and Mrs. Overton T. Smith

Mr. and Mrs. William T. Spitz

Mr. and Mrs. Joe N. Steakley

Mrs. Howard L. Stringer

Drs. Rebecca and Michael Swan

Mr. and Mrs. Cromwell Tidwell III

Mr. and Mrs. John Tighe

The Honorable Aleta Trauger and Mr. Byron Trauger

Mr. and Mrs. James S. Turner Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. J. Stephen Turner

Ms. Katy Varney and Mr. Dave Goetz Jr.

Dr. and Mrs. Daniel D. Viner

Mrs. Brian Scott Walls

Dr. and Mrs. John S. Warner

Mr. and Mrs. Richard F. Warren

Dr. Jonna Whitman and Mr. Douglas B. Whitman

Mr. Marcus Whitney

Mr. and Mrs. Blair J. Wilson

Mr. and Mrs. Stephen G. Young

Mrs. Martin Zeitlin

Dr. Mary Zutter and Mr. Sam Santoro